Enough.

HeartFoldFormed

Who do you think you are? Do you REALLY think you can compete with all those other  [way more talented than you] artists out there? Your stuff sucks. And you didn’t even go to art or metalsmithing school. Why don’t you just give up now?

Each morning I go to my studio to make stuff. Often I hear these very words in my head. They are the words of the inner critic, which I have also identified as the jerky left brain (I’m re-reading Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain). These words are not conducive to working productively. Soon I’m drowning in a sea of inadequacy and depression. I didn’t send off that donation (if I did, it wasn’t “enough”) or do that favor or send that get-well card, or any of the other things on my “To Do In The Next Million Or So Years” list. Maybe I should just give up. But I’m a serial-maker of things. Even if I didn’t have bills to pay and food to buy, I’d be making things. When I’m sad, I want to make things as an antidote.

So my new mantra – motto – battle cry – is: ENOUGH.

I have enough. I do enough. I AM ENOUGH.

YOU ARE ENOUGH, TOO.

Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

3 thoughts on “Enough.

  1. LoraLee Artist

    ❤ You are enough. Just as you are. I love your creations. I made a promise to myself this year. I would not talk to myself in any other way than I would talk to a dear friend. We tend to be so harsh on ourselves and doubt our abilities. Especially when sales are low. Chin up! You have got this. Keep creating, Keep doing what you obviously do so well. You are not alone in these thoughts. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

